Nancy MacLean, author of “Democracy in Chains: The Deep History of the Radical Right’s Stealth Plan for America” in conversation with Richard Wolinsky. Duke University Professor Nancy MacLean, in researching the life of right-wing professor James Buchanan, discovered the philosophical underpinnings of what Hillary Clinton (almost unknowingly) called the “vast right-wing conspiracy.” Funded by Charles Koch and other donors, they’ve taken over the GOP and have an agenda, she says, that ultimately will allow minority rule in the United States for the forseeable future. 

Susan Vreeland, who died on August 23, 2017 at the age of 71, was the best-selling author of several novels, most of them focusing on art, specifically painting. Richard Wolinsky interviewed Susan Vreeland on January 24, 2002, when she was on tour for her third novel, “The Passion of Artemisia,” about the female baroque painter Artemisia Gentileschi.

Elizabeth Rosner, author of Survivor Cafe: The Legacy of Trauma and the Labyrinth of Memory, in conversation with host Richard Wolinsky. Elizabeth Rosner, the author of three novels and one poetry/prose collection, discusses her latest book, Survivor Cafe, which deals with trauma and its effects, both direct and indirect. The daughter of Holocaust survivors, she examines the effects of war and other tragedies on the psyche, and how those effects can be passed down, generation to generation.

Kazuo Ishiguro, winner of the 2017 Nobel Prize in Literature, in conversation with Richard Wolinsky, recorded April 1, 2015 at Book Passage Bookstore in Corte Madera, California, while he was on tour for his latest novel, “The Iron Giant.” Over the past two decades, Kazuo Ishiguro has come to be regarded as one of the titans of modern literature. Author of such novels as “Remains of the Day” and “Never Let Me Go,” he was born in Japan but grew up in Britain, and his sensibility as an author lies somewhere between the two cultures.

Joseph Kanon, author of the spy thriller, “Defectors,” is interviewed by Richard Wolinsky. Over the course of the last 22 years, Joseph Kanon has established himself as one of the best spy novelists around, in the vein of John Le Carre, Alan Furst, Graham Greene and Eric Ambler. His latest novel, “Defectors,” is a novel about what life was like for a defector in the early 1960s after the dust has cleared the air.

Lillian Ross (1918-2017), interviewed in June, 2002 by host Richard Wolinsky. Lillian Ross spent seven decades as a staff writer for The New Yorker magazine, known for her extended profiles of politicians and celebrities. Her book “Picture,” about the making of John Huston’s “The Red Badge of Courage” is seen as the prototype today of the “new journalism,” using fictional tropes to fully create non-fictional reportage.

Andrew Sean Greer, whose latest novel is “Less,” in conversation with Richard Wolinsky.

Andrew Sean Greer is the author of several acclaimed novels, including “The Confessions of Max Tivoli” and “The Story of a Marriage.” His latest novel, “Less,” tells the story of a middle-aged writer turning fifty, his relationships with an older famed poet and a younger man, and a trip around the world.

Tom Perrotta, whose latest novel is “Mrs. Fletcher,” in conversation with Richard Wolinsky. The author of several best-sellers, Tom Perrotta is perhaps best known these days as the author of the novel “The Leftovers,” and one of the writers of the highly praised HBO show of the same name. He is also the author of other novels, including “Election” and “Little Children,” both of which became Oscar-nominated films. In this broad-ranging interview, he talks in depth about his newest novel, which deals with the problems of a divorced mother faced with empty-nest syndrome,

Hari Kunzru, whose latest novel is “White Tears,” in conversation with Richard Wolinsky. The author of several novels dealing with race and music, Hari Kunzru uses techniques of magic realism and fantasy to explore critical issues of our time. Born in London in 1969 of an Indian father and Englsh mother, he grew up in the suburb of Essex and went to university in Oxford and Warwick. He later worked as a travel journalist before turning to fiction.

• Rapid Response Phone Numbers for ICE Raids      • The cost of independent media is high. Donate today to KPFA!      • Get Woke with Rising up with Sonali at 5 am, Democracy Now at 6 am, Upfront at 7 am and Democracy Now again at 9 am