Susan Vreeland, who died on August 23, 2017 at the age of 71, was the best-selling author of several novels, most of them focusing on art, specifically painting. Richard Wolinsky interviewed Susan Vreeland on January 24, 2002, when she was on tour for her third novel, “The Passion of Artemisia,” about the female baroque painter Artemisia Gentileschi.

Elizabeth Rosner, author of Survivor Cafe: The Legacy of Trauma and the Labyrinth of Memory, in conversation with host Richard Wolinsky. Elizabeth Rosner, the author of three novels and one poetry/prose collection, discusses her latest book, Survivor Cafe, which deals with trauma and its effects, both direct and indirect. The daughter of Holocaust survivors, she examines the effects of war and other tragedies on the psyche, and how those effects can be passed down, generation to generation.

Kazuo Ishiguro, winner of the 2017 Nobel Prize in Literature, in conversation with Richard Wolinsky, recorded April 1, 2015 at Book Passage Bookstore in Corte Madera, California, while he was on tour for his latest novel, “The Iron Giant.” Over the past two decades, Kazuo Ishiguro has come to be regarded as one of the titans of modern literature. Author of such novels as “Remains of the Day” and “Never Let Me Go,” he was born in Japan but grew up in Britain, and his sensibility as an author lies somewhere between the two cultures.

Joseph Kanon, author of the spy thriller, “Defectors,” is interviewed by Richard Wolinsky. Over the course of the last 22 years, Joseph Kanon has established himself as one of the best spy novelists around, in the vein of John Le Carre, Alan Furst, Graham Greene and Eric Ambler. His latest novel, “Defectors,” is a novel about what life was like for a defector in the early 1960s after the dust has cleared the air.

Lillian Ross (1918-2017), interviewed in June, 2002 by host Richard Wolinsky. Lillian Ross spent seven decades as a staff writer for The New Yorker magazine, known for her extended profiles of politicians and celebrities. Her book “Picture,” about the making of John Huston’s “The Red Badge of Courage” is seen as the prototype today of the “new journalism,” using fictional tropes to fully create non-fictional reportage.

Two weeks after Charlottesville, the national conversation about extremism flipped 180 degrees, from “what do we do about white supremacist groups?” to “what do we do about antifa?” So, how did it happen? We take you inside the chat rooms where right-wing extremist groups planned their image-management strategy before protests in Charlottesville, VA; then into … Continued

• The cost of independent media is high. Donate today to KPFA!      • Thank you to Stella Nonna Restaurant in Berkeley, and Renaissance Specialty Cakes from Oakland, for their "Delicious" support during our Fund Drive.      • For more morning news and information check out UpFront daily 7am-9am