April 16 2020

CANCELED – TERRY McMILLAN

This event has been canceled to safeguard against the spread COVID-19 in our community.

KPFA

Terry McMillan has been charming readers with her exceptional warmth, sharp humor, and fierce female characters for more than thirty years. Her newest book, IT’S NOT ALL DOWNHILL FROM HERE, shows Terry at her best. Her signature style shines in this inspiring story about healing wounds and charting new paths—all with a little help from...


April 20 2020

CANCELED – SARAH KENDZIOR

This event has been canceled to safeguard against the spread COVID-19 in our community.

KPFA

In her new book "Hiding in Plain Sight," bestselling author Sara Kendzior gives us a bitingly honest examination of the calculated rise to power of Donald Trump, beginning in the 1980’s, revealing the stunning subsequent erosion of American liberty.


April 22 2020

FRANK WILDERSON

Afropessimism

KPFA

In the tradition of Edward Said’s Orientalism and Franz Fanon’s Black Skin, White Masks, Frank B. Wilderson's Afropessimism is a brilliant account of the experience of being black. The black radical tradition has drawn upon the term as a way to acknowledge the power, depth, and vitality of the resilience and radical imagination of people...