December 2011 LSB Meeting Records

KPFA 2011 Local Station Board
Regular in-person meeting,
December 7, 2011, 6-9pm
Berkeley Senior Center, 1901 Hearst Ave., Berkeley CA

Note: An audio archive of this meeting is available at

Shahram Aghamir*, Mal Burnstein, Pamela Drake, Anthony Fest, Sasha Futran, David Gans, Conn Hallinan, Matthew Hallinan, Cynthia Johnson*, Hyun-Mi Kim*, Jack Kurzweil, Henry Norr*, Andrea Prichett, Laura Prives, Tracy Rosenberg, Tanya Russell, Lewis Sawyer, Franklin Sterling*, Akio Tanaka, Kate Tanaka, Andrea Turner, Margy Wilkinson, Rych Withers; Barbara Whipperman (treasurer), Craig Alderson (secretary), Andrew Phillips (ex-officio)

*Arrived after roll call.

1.         Call to order
Meeting called to order by chair M. Wilkinson at 6:05 pm.

2.         Roll call and excusing of members
Moved (C. Hallinan) to excuse D. Siegel, T. Doran. Approved without objection.

3.         Approve agenda
Moved (M. Burnstein) to adopt agenda as drafted. Approved without objection, no amendments.

Moved (L. Prives) that speakers be limited to three minutes on any one topic. M. Wilkinson clarified that Roberts Rules of Order allow one person to speak twice on a matter, so the motion would allow three minutes per occurrence. Approved: 12Y, 7N

4.         Minutes
Approved as amended without objection.

5.         Public comments (in order of speakers)
Signe Mattson, Virginia Browning, Daniel Borgstrom, Steve Gilmartin, Vic Sadot, Dennis Bernstein, Annie Hallatt, Jenny Miller, Mara Rivera. Moved to extend D. Bernstein’s time by two minutes; approved without objection.

6.         New business

A.         Election of 2012 LSB officers

Chair: A. Prichett (declined); M. Wilkinson; A. Fest.
Vice chair: S. Futran, K. Tanaka
Secretary: A. Tanaka, C. Alderson
Treasurer: B. Whipperman, C. Johnson

Election results (those elected in boldface):
Chair: M. Wilkinson (14); A. Fest (8)
Vice chair: S. Futran (13), K. Tanaka (10)
Secretary: C. Alderson (13), A. Tanaka (10)
Treasurer: B. Whipperman (13), C. Johnson (10)

Moved (T. Rosenberg) to adjourn as LSB and reconvene as Delegate Assembly. Approved without objection.

B.         PNB proposed bylaws

Moved (T. Rosenberg) to approve amendment #5. Approved: 17Y, 1N, 2A.

Moved (T. Rosenberg) to approve amendment #6. Approved without objection.

Moved (L. Prives) to approve amendment #8. Approved without objection.

Moved (A. Turner) to approve amendment #9. Approved: 22Y, 1A.

Moved (L. Sawyer) to reconvene as LSB. Approved without objection.

C.         2012 meeting schedule
Moved (S. Futran) to add meeting schedule to agenda. Approved without objection. Proposed schedule for 2012: first Saturday of every month except September 2012, which shall be the second Saturday. Moved (P. Drake) to adopt. Approved without objection.

7.         iGM evaluation
Moved (M. Burnstein) to postpone substantive discussion of evaluation to January meeting.

Moved to amend (A. Prichett): “Until the January meeting we encourage and allow written comments from staff, paid and unpaid, who want to contribute input to the GM evaluation. These comments shall be made available to the LSB.”

Moved (L. Sawyer) to close debate. Approved without objection.

Amendment approved: 11Y (S. Aghamir, A. Fest, D. Gans, C. Johnson, H. Kim, H. Norr, A. Prichett, T. Rosenberg, F. Sterling, A. Tanaka, K. Tanaka); 8N (M. Burnstein, P. Drake, S. Futran, J. Kurzweil, L. Prives, L. Sawyer, A. Turner, R. Withers); 2A (C. Hallinan, M. Hallinan)

Motion as amended approved: 17Y (S. Aghamir, A. Fest, D. Gans, C. Hallinan, C. Johnson, H. Kim, J. Kurzweil, H. Norr, A. Prichett, L. Prives, T. Rosenberg, L. Sawyer, F. Sterling, A. Tanaka, K. Tanaka, A. Turner, R. Withers); 2N (M. Burnstein, P. Drake; 2A (S. Futran, M. Hallinan)

M. Wilkinson noted the consensus of the board that staff members on the board will figure out what to say in the email that goes out to all staff members, and that L. Prives volunteered to collect comments that are received.

Moved (S. Aghamir): “The KPFA LSB accept GM evaluation surveys already sent out to programs until Dec. 31, 2011,and include those results in the committee’s report to the LSB.” Failed: 10Y (S. Aghamir, A. Fest, C. Johnson, H. Kim, H. Norr, A. Prichett, T. Rosenberg, F. Sterling, A. Tanaka, K. Tanaka); 11N (M. Burnstein, P. Drake; S. Futran, D. Gans, C. Hallinan, M. Hallinan, J. Kurzweil, L. Prives, L. Sawyer, A. Turner, R. Withers)

Adjourned 9:00 pm.

Respectfully submitted,
Craig Alderson
LSB Secretary