March 12, 2010 To: KPFA LSB From: Akio Tanaka Re: Draft Minutes of 03-07-10 LSB Meetings

The meeting was held on March 7, 2010 11am-4pm at the North Berkeley Senior Center.

1. Call to Order [11:12am]

Meeting was called to order by the Chair. **Roll call:** Pamela Drake, Diane Enriquez, Sasha Futran, Sherry Gendelman, Conn Hallinan, Matt Hallinan, Susan McDonough, Henry Norr, Andrea Prichett, Tracy Rosenberg, Dan Siegel, Akio Tanaka, Andrea Turner, Joe Wanzala, Shahram Aghamir, Naji Ali, Brian Edwards-Tiekert, Anthony Fest, Renee Yang-Geesler, Laura Prives, Rych Withers, Simon Pius [Chandra Hauptman, Warren Marr, Sureya Sayadi] **Absent:** Banafsheh Akhlaghi

2. Excusing Absent Members [11:14am] Banafsheh Akhlaghi was absent due to illness.

3. Introductions and Announcements [11:15am]

Pamela Drake, Diane Enriquez, Sasha Futran, Sherry Gendelman, Conn Hallinan, Matt Hallinan, Susan McDonough, Henry Norr, Andrea Prichett, Tracy Rosenberg, Dan Siegel, Akio Tanaka, Andrea Turner, Joe Wanzala, Shahram Aghamir, Naji Ali, Brian Edwards-Tiekert, Anthony Fest, Renee Yang-Geesler, Laura Prives, Rych Withers, Simon Pius

4. Agenda Review and Approval [11:18am]

Motion to add election of officers to the agenda [Sherry Gendelman] The Chair rules the motion out of order.

[Chandra Hauptman joined the meeting]

Motion to sustain ruling of the Chair - Failed [**9Y:** Chandra Hauptman, Henry Norr, Tracy Rosenberg, Akio Tanaka, Joe Wanzala, Shahram Aghamir, Naji Ali, Anthony Fest, Renee Yang-Geesler]

[**11N:** Pamela Drake, Diane Enriquez, Sherry Gendelman, Conn Hallinan, Matt Hallinan, Susan McDonough, Dan Siegel, Andrea Turner, Brian Edwards-Tiekert, Laura Prives, Rych Withers] [**1 A:** Andrea Prichett]

Substitute Motion to place the election as an agenda item 16.2 [Tracy Rosenberg]

[Sureva Savadi joined the meeting]

Substitute Motion to place the election as agenda item 4.5 [Brian Edwards-Tiekert] – Failed [11Y: Pamela Drake, Diane Enriquez, Sherry Gendelman, Conn Hallinan, Matt Hallinan, Susan McDonough, Dan Siegel, Andrea Turner, Brian Edwards-Tiekert, Laura Prives, Rych Withers] [11N: Chandra Hauptman, Henry Norr, Andrea Prichett, Tracy Rosenberg, Sureya Sayadi, Akio Tanaka, Joe Wanzala, Shahram Aghamir, Naji Ali, Anthony Fest, Renee Yang-Geesler]

Substitute Motion to place the election as an agenda item 16.2 – Passed [11Y- 8N - 3A] Motion to approve the agenda – Passed [16Y– 5N - 1A]

5. Next LSB Meeting [11:48am]

Motion to hold next LSB meeting on Thursday April 8, 2010 [Chair]

Substitute Motion to make the alternating Sat Sun [Brian Edwards-Tiekert] - Failed [11Y-11N] Substitute Motion to make next meeting Saturday April 10 [Brian Edwards-Tiekert] - Passed [11Y-7N- 4A]

6. Minutes Approval [12:04pm] Motion to approve the February minutes [Brian Edwards-Tiekert] - Passed [17Y- 5A] Motion to table the approval of the December minutes [Tracy Rosenberg] - Passed [10Y-7N- 5A]

7. Treasurer Report [12:08pm]

Simon Pius handed out a financial report and gave a brief summary.

8. PNB Report [12:40pm]

Joe Wanzala, Tracy Rosenberg, Shahram Aghamir, Andrea Turner

Break [1:00pm]

9. KFCF Report [1:16pm]

Rych Withers, 35th anniversary of KFCF.

8. PNB Report (Cont.) [1:19pm]

[Andrea Turner left the meeting]

[Warren Mar joined the meeting]

[Sasha Futran left the meeting] [Anthony Fest assumed Chair]

Motion [Brian Edwards Tiekert] "The KPFA LSB calls on the Pacifica National Board to 1) defend the right of journalists within Pacifica to protect the confidentiality of their sources; and 2) extend to Pacifica news staff covering internal issues the same editorial autonomy they enjoy when reporting on external issues."

Amendment [Henry Norr] - Failed

"; and 3) The LSB also notes that the KPFA news department's report on the resignation of the general manager did not fairly and accurately reflect what happened in the January executive session, including the facts and reasoning behind the majority's vote. The LSB calls upon the KPFA news department, when reporting on issues internal to the station and the foundation, to follow sound journalistic principles and its own guidelines requiring that coverage of controversial issues fairly and accurately represent the views of the major parties to the controversy."

[**10Y:** Chandra Hauptman, Henry Norr, Andrea Prichett, Tracy Rosenberg, Sureya Sayadi, Akio Tanaka, Joe Wanzala, Shahram Aghamir, Naji Ali, Renee Yang-Geesler]

[**11N:** Pamela Drake, Diane Enriquez, Sherry Gendelman, Conn Hallinan, Matt Hallinan, Warren Mar, Susan McDonough, Dan Siegel, Brian Edwards-Tiekert, Laura Prives, Rych Withers]

Original Motion - Passed

[14Y: Pamela Drake, Diane Enriquez, Sherry Gendelman, Conn Hallinan, Matt Hallinan, Warren Mar, Susan McDonough, Andrea Prichett, Dan Siegel, Naji Ali, Brian Edwards-Tiekert, Renee Yang-Geesler, Laura Prives, Rych Withers]

[**7N:** Chandra Hauptman, Henry Norr, Tracy Rosenberg, Sureya Sayadi, Akio Tanaka, Joe Wanzala, Shahram Aghamir]

10. Public Comments [2:16pm]

Werner Hertz, Dave Heller, Mara Rivera, Daniel Borgstrom, Virginia Browning, John Sheridan, Richard Phelps, Bob English, Curt Gray, Brian Shiratsuki, Norma Harrison, Cynthia Morse, Stan Woods

11. Election of LSB Committees

[Deferred]
12. Finish Election of PNB Committees
[Deferred]
13. CAB Report
[Deferred]
14. Whistleblower Policy
[Deferred]
15. Unfinished Business
[Deferred]
16. New Business
[Deferred]
17. Executive Session [3:00pm]
Personnel and legal matters.
18. Adjourn
Meeting was adjourned at 4:00PM.