Events

Kimberly Jones: I’m Not Dying With You Tonight

When: October 20, 2020

Where: online: link will be provided upon ticket purchase

20201020 20201020 America/Los_Angeles Kimberly Jones: I’m Not Dying With You Tonight

Kimberly Jones and Davey D will discuss Jones's book I'm Not Dying With You Tonight and answer questions.

online: link will be provided upon ticket purchase

KPFA Radio 94.1 FM presents a webinar

KIMBERLY JONES

“I’M NOT DYING WITH YOU TONIGHT”

with Davey D

………………………………………………………………………………

Tuesday, October 20, 7 PM, 2020

Eventbrite Contact:

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/kimberly-jones-im-not-dying-with-you-tonight-tickets-118858499973

The New York Times Bestseller!

      “An absolute page turner, I’m Not Dying with You Tonight is a compelling and powerful novel that is sure to make an impact. ” ―Angie Thomas, New York Times bestselling author

      An NAACP Image Award Nominee, I’m Not Dying with You Tonight follows two teen girls―one black, one white―who have to confront their own assumptions about racial inequality as they rely on each other to get through the violent race riot that has set their cityon fire with civil unrest.

Lena has her killer style, her awesome boyfriend, and a plan. She knows she’s going to make it big. Campbell, on the other hand, is just trying to keep her head down and get through the year at her new school. When both girls attend the Friday-night football game, what neither expects is for everything to descend into sudden mass chaos. Chaos born from violence and hate. Chaos that unexpectedly throws them together. They aren’t friends. They hardly understand the other’s point of view. But none of that matters when the city is up in flames, and they only have each other to rely on if they’re going to survive the night.

            A story perfect for:

  • Sparking conversations about prejudice and the racial tension that exists in America
  • Parents and educators looking for multicultural and African American books for teens
  • Fans of Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, and Jason Reynolds
  • “A vital addition to the YA race relations canon.” ―Nic Stone,New York Times 

      “I’m Not Dying With You Tonight “ is a powerful examination of privilege, and how friends are often    found in surprising places. This is a page-turning debut, as timely as it is addictive

Davey D is a nationally recognized journalist, adjunct professor, Hip Hop historian, syndicated talk show host, radio programmer, producer, deejay, media and community activist. Originally from the Bronx, NY, Davey D’s been down with Hip Hop since1977. A graduate of U.C. Berkeley, Davey D is the co-founder and host of

many of the most cited Hip Hop radio and online news journalism projects. Hard Knock Radio (HKR) is an award-winning daily syndicated prime time afternoon show focusing on Hip Hop culture and politics. It originated in 1999 on KPFA 94.1 FM in the Bay Area, and now can be heard in Seattle, Atlanta, Portland, Fresno and is streamed live over KPFA.org, where it reaches close to a million listeners every weekday.

Share This